Whipper Snappers

If there's one thing we've noticed at Riverbend, it's that the book is not dead. In fact, some of our most loyal and excited customers are our children. As soon as the school holidays start, we are inundated with these bright young things looking for something new and exciting to read while they have time off. 

The Whipper Snappers Bookclubs are run by Jane Sullivan, and caters to children in years 5 to 6, with ages ranging from 9 to 11. They meet once a month on a Wednesday after from 4-4:45pm (dates in the calendar below).
 

Expression of Interest

Please register your interest below and Riverbend staff will notify you when space opens up in one of the groups you've selected.

Please note: joining our bookclubs requires an annual membership fee of $100, to be paid before you start in order to secure your place.

Whipper Snappers 4pm
100.00
Quantity:
Add To Cart

WHIPPER SNAPPERS - GRADES 5-6, 4PM

embassy of the dead.jpg
dog with seven names.jpg

READING IN July

The Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.

Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.) When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts. Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

READING IN August

The Dog with Seven Names by Dianne Wolfer

A tiny dog, the runt of the litter, is born on a remote cattle station. She shouldn't have survived, but when Elsie finds, names and loves her, the pup becomes a cherished companion. Life is perfect a until War arrives.

With Japanese air raids moving closer, Elsie's family leaves the Pilbara for the south and safety. But the small dog has to stay behind. After travelling far from home with drovers and a flying doctor, she becomes a hospital dog and experiences the impact of war on north-western Australia. She witnesses wonderful and terrible things and gives courage to many different humans. 

But through all her adventures and many names, the little dog remembers Elsie, who girl who loved her best of all. Will she ever find her again?

 

What we've read so far