Knits and Novels

For Knits & Novels bookclub members, please scroll down to find out what your current and next bookclub books are. You will also find a calendar of dates and the list of books that you've read over the past year. For guests, please feel free to peruse the Knits & Novels page, and fill out an Expression of Interest form if you would like to join the Knits & Novels waiting list.

Keep in mind that if you live outside of Brisbane and cannot physically attend our bookclubs, you can still read the books! Sign up for our Book of the Month program and receive the latest offering from Riverbend Readers.
 

Expression of Interest

Please register your interest below and Riverbend staff will notify you when space opens up in one of the groups you've selected.

Please note: joining our bookclubs requires an annual membership fee of $100, to be paid before you start in order to secure your place.

Knits & Novels, 10am
100.00
Add To Cart
Knits & Novels, 1pm
100.00
Quantity:
Add To Cart

Winter of the Witch.jpg
z.jpeg

Reading for March

Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden

A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.

One girl can make a difference...


Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers - and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic.

Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya's shoulders. 

But she may not be able to save them all.

Reading for April

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

 Before F. Scott Fitzgerald was a literary darling, before he'd even begun to imagine The Great Gatsby or Benjamin Button, he was a young WWI army lieutenant who fell hard for a spirited Southern belle named Zelda Sayre. The life he and Zelda would lead together in New York, Long Island, Paris, Hollywood and the French Riviera made them legends, even in their own time. Zelda was the embodiment of the Jazz Age and the Roaring Twenties. She was vibrant, headstrong, complicated and misunderstood. Z is the irresistibly rich, romantic and tumultuous story of Zelda and Scott Fitzgerald, set in seductive settings and featuring larger-than-life characters including Ernest Hemingway, Sara and Gerald Murphy and Gertrude Stein. From Manhattan to the French Riviera, Paris, Baltimore, Hollywood and points in between, through his alcohol addition and her schizophrenia diagnosis, Z traces the evolution of this iconic woman as she fights for her own potential while trying to ensure that Scott achieves his.

 

What we've read this year:

 
 

Facilitated by

Britt.jpg

Britt Knudsen