Product detail

My (Part-Time) Paris Life

My (Part-Time) Paris Life

Author: Lisa Anselmo
$34.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Poignant, touching, and lively, this memoir of a woman who loses her mother and creates a new life for herself in Paris will speak to anyone who has lost a parent or reinvented themselves. Lisa Anselmo wrapped her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who was a defining force in her daughter's life-maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hadn't built a life of her own, and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother-and her mother's expectations? Desperate for answers, she reaches for a lifeline in the form of an apartment in Paris, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as a Lurching act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. But how can you imagine a life bigger than anything you've ever known? In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life a story is for anyone who's ever felt lost or hopeless, but still holds out hope of something more.
This candid memoir explores one woman's search for peace and meaning, and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness.
Promotion info
A memoir by a woman who confronts her lifelong fear of change, buys an apartment in Paris, and discovers that this one decision opens doors to a new life she never would have imagined.
A poignant meditation on self-love, maternal loss and the restorative force that is Paris. Jennifer Coburn, author of "We ll Always Have Paris" Lisa Anselmo s tale of striving and self-discovery is proof of the magical magnetism of the City of Light. She might have entitled it Getting to Paris," where a new life can begin." David Downie, author of "A Passion for Paris: Romanticism and Romance in the City of Light" Charming. This book feels as if Lisa Anselmo is telling you her Paris story over coffee at a cafe. An intimate account of learning to grieve the loss of a parent while, at the same time, striving to live your dreams. Janice MacLeod, "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Paris Letters""""" Leading with her heart, Lisa takes us inside the real Paris: the Paris of intermittent ecstasy and agony, triumph and frustration, magic and dysfunction. Her honesty, vulnerability and simple "joie de vivre" through the journey make it a pleasurable trip indeed. Amy Thomas, author of "Paris My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light (and Dark Chocolate)""
Author description
LISA ANSELMO has spent most of her professional career in magazine publishing, working on such iconic brands as "Allure, Mademoiselle, InStyle," and "People." She s been everything from a creative director to an opera singer, but ultimately, she has followed her passion for storytelling and inspiring people.Anselmo started traveling to Paris regularly more than ten years ago at first, to cover the fashion trade shows for a lifestyle website. But soon, she had cultivated friends both Parisians and expats and eventually built another life across the ocean. After losing her mother to breast cancer, she was motivated to make her other life official, buying an apartment in Paris's Right Bank. In 2014, she decided to leave her day job, and now splits her time between New York and Paris, where she writes full time. Her experiences inspired the memoir "My (Part-Time) Paris Life, "a candid narrative of a woman searching for hope and healing in the city she loves."
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781250067470
  • : St Martin's Press
  • : St Martin's Press
  • : November 2016
  • : 210mm X 140mm X 20mm
  • : United States
  • : November 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : en
  • : Lisa Anselmo
  • : Hardback
  • : 256