Product detail

Aerie (Magonia #2)

Aerie (Magonia #2)

Author: Maria Dahvana Headley
Series: Magonia
$19.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

The stunning sequel to Maria Dahvana Headley's critically acclaimed Magonia tells the story of one girl who must make an impossible choice between two families, two homes-and two versions of herself.Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend, Jason, is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She's living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if you've spent the past year dying, waking up on a sky ship, and discovering that your song can change the world.As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground.When Jason's paranoia over Aza's safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner, Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, the Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever.Told in Maria Headley's trademark John Green–meets–Neil Gaiman voice, Aerie is sure to satisfy the many readers who can't wait to return to the spellbinding world of Magonia.


PRAISE FOR MAGONIA: "Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she's whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream." -- Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Graveyard Book and Coraline "Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming." -- Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red Queen "Headley riffs like an improv comic... funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason's bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman." -- Booklist "The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza's interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green's The Fault in Our Stars." -- Kirkus "The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled... romance, danger, and world-building combine." -- School Library Journal "The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "[A] weird, unique, and beautifully crafted book." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Author description

Maria Dahvana Headley is a memoirist, novelist, and editor, most recently of the novel Queen of Kings and the New York Times bestselling anthology Unnatural Creatures (coeditor with Neil Gaiman). As the author of the work of short fiction "The Traditional," she has been nominated for a Shirley Jackson Award. She lives in Brooklyn with a seven-foot stuffed crocodile and a collection of star charts from the 1700s.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780062565372
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • : HarperCollins
  • : September 2016
  • : 229mm X 152mm X 20mm
  • : United States
  • : November 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Maria Dahvana Headley
  • : 813.6
  • : Paperback
  • : 320