Product detail

A Toaster on Mars

A Toaster on Mars

Author: Darrell Pitt
$19.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

For fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams comes a hilarious new space and time adventure.

The year is 2509 and Earth is a rather polluted blue dot that suffers from global warming, overpopulation and not enough people using deodorant.

Blake Carter, star agent with the Planetary Bureau of Investigation, isn’t having a good day. First he’s beaten up by a bunch of religious zealots, and then he’s assigned a robot—sorry, cyborg—as his new partner, right before his ex-wife calls to tell him his daughter has gone missing. His car keeps criticising his driving, and finally, to top things off, the world is held to ransom by his nemesis, evil genius Bartholomew Badde.

Can things get any worse?



'The adventures of Blake Carter and Nicky Steel, along with commentary by editor Zeeb Blatsnart, bring a lighthearted science fiction story to life. A Toaster on Mars is a laugh-out-loud and thoroughly enjoyable read!' -- Melanie Nemer, Austrek President 'This is a fun, exuberant book to read which sees the main character, Blake Carter, on a non-stop race around the solar system ending up on the titular Mars (Carter on Mars anyone?)...The book is an obvious homage to Douglas Adams but is not slavish in its interpretation and what I really liked, as an SF fan, was picking up on all the other SF references in the story. I particularly enjoyed the inclusion of an immersive 3D version of Plan Nine from Outer Space...4.23657 toasters out of 5.' -- Dallas Jones, Doctor Who Club of Australia

Author description

Darrell Pitt began his lifelong appreciation of Victorian literature when he read Sherlock Holmes stories as a child, quickly moving on to H. G. Wells and Jules Verne. This early reading led to a love of comics, science fiction and all things geeky. Darrell is the author of A Toaster on Mars and the Jack Mason Adventures, a series of five novels including The Firebird Mystery (a Notable book int he 2015 CBCA awards) and, most recently, The Lost Sword. He lives in Melbourne.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781922182869
  • : Text Publishing Co
  • : The Text Publishing Company
  • : April 2016
  • : 198mm X 128mm
  • : Australia
  • : May 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 288
  • : en
  • : Darrell Pitt