Product detail

Collected Poems: Sylvia Plath

Collected Poems: Sylvia Plath

Author: Sylvia Plath
$39.95 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
This volume contains all of Sylvia Plath's mature poetry written from 1956 up to her death in 1963. It was awarded the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. The text is preceded by an introduction by Ted Hughes and followed by notes and comments on individual poems. An appendix contains 50 earlier poems.
Author description
Sylvia Plath (1932-63) was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and studied at Smith College. In 1955 she went to Cambridge University on a Fulbright scholarship, where she met and later married Ted Hughes. She published one collection of poems in her lifetime, The Colossus (1960), and a novel, The Bell Jar (1963). Her Collected Poems, which contains her poetry written from 1956 until her death, was published in 1981 and was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for poetry. Ted Hughes (1930-1998) was born in Yorkshire. His first book, The Hawk in the Rain, was published in 1957 by Faber & Faber and was followed by many volumes of poetry and prose for adults and children. He received the Whitbread Book of the Year for two consecutive years for his last published collections of poetry, Tales from Ovid (1997) and Birthday Letters (1998). He was Poet Laureate from 1984, and in 1998 he was appointed to the Order of Merit.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780571118380
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : August 2002
  • : 215mm X 138mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 351
  • : Poetry texts & anthologies; Poetry & poets; Literary studies: from c 1900 -
  • : Sylvia Plath
  • : index
  • : 811.54
  • : Paperback