Product detail

The Rainbow Troops

The Rainbow Troops

Author: Andrea Hirata
$32.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: -7
The Indonesian record-breaking bestseller, in the tradition of Slumdog Millionaire and Shantaram. Ikal is a student at Muhammadiyah Elementary, on the Indonesian island of Belitong, where graduating from sixth grade is considered a major achievement. His school is under constant threat of closure. In fact, Ikal and his friends - a group called the Rainbow Troops - face threats from every angle: pessimistic, corrupt government officials; greedy corporations hardly distinguishable from the colonialism they've replaced; deepening poverty and crumbling infrastructure; and their own faltering self-confidence. But in the form of two extraordinary teachers, they also have hope, and Ikal's education is an uplifting one, in and out of the classroom. You will cheer for Ikal and his friends as they defy the town's powerful tin miners. Meet his first love - a hand with half-moon fingernails that passes him the chalk his teacher sent him to buy. You will roar in support of Lintang, the class's barefoot maths genius, as he bests the rich company children in an academic challenge. First published in Indonesia, The Rainbow Troops went on to sell over 5 million cop
Author description

Andrea Hirata is an Indonesian writer. He was a fellow of the International Writer's Program at the University of Iowa, 2010. His first novel, The Rainbow Troops (Laskar Pelangi in Indonesia), sold more than 5 million copies, making him the country's best-selling writer in history. The Rainbow Troops is published or forthcoming in 23 countries and counting. An Indonesian film adaptation of The Rainbow Troops went on to become the highest ever grossing film in the country. Andrea Hirata's work has been adapted and performed by the CityDance Ensemble, Washington, DC, and his short fiction has appeared in the Washington Square Review. Hirata has written three sequels to The Rainbow Troops: Sang Pemimpi (The Dreamer), Edensor and Maryama Karpov. He lives in Indonesia.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781742758589
  • : Random House Australia
  • : Vintage (Australia)
  • : October 2012
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : Australia
  • : December 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 432
  • : Andrea Hirata
  • : 899.22133
  • : Paperback