Product detail

The Trees

The Trees

Author: Ali Shaw
$27.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

There came an elastic aftershock of creaks and groans and then, softly softly, a chinking shower of rubbled cement. Leaves calmed and trunks stood serene. Where, not a minute before, there had been a suburb, there was now only woodland standing amid ruins...There is no warning. No chance to prepare. They arrive in the night: thundering up through the ground, transforming streets and towns into shadowy forest. Buildings are destroyed. Broken bodies, still wrapped in tattered bed linen, hang among the twitching leaves. Adrien Thomas has never been much of a hero. But when he realises that no help is coming, he ventures out into this unrecognisable world. Michelle, his wife, is across the sea in Ireland and he has no way of knowing whether the trees have come for her too. Then Adrien meets green-fingered Hannah and her teenage son Seb. Together, they set out to find Hannah's forester brother, to reunite Adrien with his wife - and to discover just how deep the forest goes. Their journey will take them to a place of terrible beauty and violence, to the dark heart of nature and the darkness inside themselves.

Promotion info

A compulsive, mesmerising and wildly imaginative novel in the vein of Pan's Labyrinth and Station Eleven, following four people as they struggle to survive in a world where nature fights back - from the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass Feet


'The Trees is a stunning and vivid examination of the relationship between humans and the environment in which they live. Violent, beautiful, devastating and utterly enchanting, it's a complete triumph for Shaw, who masterfully brings every detail of the book to life. A wonderfully imaginative story, but also a compelling social commentary, The Trees is a rarity and an absolute must-read.' --Herald Scotland

Ali Shaw takes readers on a strange and vivid journey into an ancient forest that has taken over the world with force. The Trees is a thought-provoking meditation on what it means to be wild. Death, darkness and eerie creatures lurk among the branches, but it's the human characters that surprise the most. What happens when law and order is stripped away and people are left to their own moral codes? As with The Girl With Glass Feet, Ali Shaw once again weaves a fantastical and haunting story --Eowyn Ivey

The Trees does for trees what Hitchcock did for birds. You have been warned' --Irish Times, 'Books to Watch Out For in 2016'

'A fairy story for people who can still envisage a future that isn't completely bleak' --Stanley Donwood 

Author description

Ali Shaw is the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass Feet and The Man who Rained. He grew up in Dorset and graduated from Lancaster University with a degree in English Literature. He has since worked as a bookseller and at the Bodleian Library. He now lives in Oxford, with his wife and baby daughter. @Ali_Shaw

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408862254
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : February 2016
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : Export/Airside
  • : 320
  • : en
  • : Ali Shaw