Product detail

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Author: Vaseem Khan
Series: Baby Ganesh Investigations
$19.99 (AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve...But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions to its murky underworld - he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. So begins the start of a quite unexpected partnership, and an utterly delightful new series.


Keeps things heart-warming while tackling corruption at the highest levels and violent crime at the lowest. Endearing and gripping, it sets up Inspector Chopra - and the elephant - for a long series. Sunday Times Enchanting Woman & Home Chopra, diligent, incorruptible and not entirely at ease with shiny new India, is a delight, as is his redoubtable wife, Poppy - and Ganesha the elephant, once he has cheered up a bit, proves a very useful ally indeed. Utterly charming Guardian Delightful and uplifting The Bookseller A cast of intriguing characters that it will be a joy to see develop. But the greatest strength is the setting in the teeming city of Mumbai, from which the colour and atmosphere flows out of every page in this enjoyable, whimsical tale Daily Express A sparkling debut with a zippy plot and an endearing set of characters The Lady A quirky murder mystery... full of colourful characters and insightful details about human motivation Irish Examiner

Author description

Vaseem Khan first saw an elephant lumbering down the middle of the road in 1997 when he arrived in India to work as a management consultant. It was the most unusual thing he had ever encountered and served as the inspiration behind his series of crime novels. He returned to the UK in 2006 and now works at University College London for the Department of Security and Crime Science where he is astonished on a daily basis by the way modern science is being employed to tackle crime. Elephants are third on his list of passions, first and second being great literature and cricket, not always in that order.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781473612280
  • : Alliance
  • : alliance
  • : December 2015
  • : 19.80 cmmm X 12.90 cmmm X 2.00 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : en
  • : Vaseem Khan
  • : 823.92
  • : Paperback
  • : 304